Homemade Glidecam/Steadycam (With Test Video)


glidecamI made a glidecam a few days ago. It worked for a while, but I didnt use enough glue on the bearing and it didnt hold up. I then bought some 5 min. epoxy, because I didnt feel like waiting for J.B. weld to cure for 48 hours. For some reason, my epoxy didnt work and stayed gooey for over a day (5 minutes?) so I cleaned it off and did it right with the J.B. Weld. I love that stuff. Annnyywayyy, It works pretty well. Balancing it works out really well, because when you flip out the lcd on the t3i, it pretty much makes balances the camera because the batterie is on the other side. Now, I am no Joe Simon over here, but I got josh to ride around for my while I tried to skate and operate a glidecam at the same time. It is kind of hard. If this post gets enough interest (traffic that I can turn into advertising $$) I will make a bit more of a how-to kind of guid with my thoughts on the matter. Or I will get a job and buy a real one so I dont have to run around with $600 of camera suspended by old bike parts and $4 of PVC pipe.

Watch it in 720p if you can, because youtube is good at making anything look bad.

Hip-Star hair

Thanks to Josh for going outside in the cold to ride his bike after being off bikes for about 4 monthes, just for me. What a nice guy.

Leave a Reply

