My New Wheel


Well, here is the moment you all have been waiting for. I finally got my spokes and built my new wheel.

You can see in the first picture, I am taking my wheel apart, after that the spokes are added in sets of 9 starting with the right side back layer, the left side back layer, right side front layer and then finally the left side front layer. Now I need to true it, then ride it and then true it again. What actually happens when you build a new hub up is that the spokes cut into the holes on the hub flange, so after you get it all true, the spokes come loose again so you (I) get to re-true it.

4 comments
  1. Mandy Ritson said:

    How do you make sure it’s balanced correctly??? What do you do with old spokes??

    • bmxbot said:

      The spokes go towards the rim at an angle, so if you tighten the spokes on one side, it pulls the rim over and loosening also has the same effect.

  2. Katherine Drozdowski said:

    Zach – this is impressive that you took this project on. What are the benefits of building your own wheel vs. buying one already assembled? AK

    • bmxbot said:

      Well, the benefits for me are: entertainment, money saving, fun, blog post material and bragging rights. Also, doing my part to put the local bike stores out of business is fun too.

Leave a Reply

